Why can’t we just love one another?

There’s a reason I don’t watch the news on a regular basis, other than to catch the weather report during the winter months (or days as this is Florida) so I know whether or not to put a jacket on MiniMe. I can only take so many stories about beatings, shootings, hate-crimes, etc. But recently I’ve found myself tuning in more due to what’s been going on out of Orlando, and am yet again reminded that Man is Man’s biggest enemy, not only to himself, but to his family.

We have this case out of Lakeland.

Then there is this case out of Tampa.

Or how about this one out of Orlando.

Not sick to your stomach yet? We can’t forget this pretty little gem, also out of Orlando.

I mean, holy shit, what the hell is wrong with people???? Were these people just not loved at all by their parents? Or were they all products of the fucked-up society that we live in? I could add another 100 stories to this list, just for the Central Florida area. It makes me want to bang my head on a brick wall, or completely cut myself off from any media whatsoever. I cry for humanity.

There is one positive thing to come out of hearing some of these stories, though. I am yet again reminded that I married a wonderful, caring man who has never hit me, threatened me, or has made me fear for my life. Of course, our marriage isn’t perfect (there is no such thing), but we love and respect each other, and try not to take each other for granted. I am very much grateful that I snagged one of the ‘good guys’, and my heart goes out to those women who were not so lucky.

M

Leave a Reply

